User Messages #
If messages have been placed for the user, these will be visible as a hyperlink to the Messages.
Clicking on the Messages Hyperlink will display the appropriate messages:
Depending on the setting associated with the message the will be displayed to the operator as part of Circulation transactions involving this user.
NOTE – messages marked as ‘no prompt message’ are not displayed, and the messages are displayed with oldest first.
Messages are set for specific action according to settings described below under Adding a new message.
Control panel #
The control panel at right of screen contains a Message tab, with radio buttons to define message type and a text box for entry of the message:
Adding a new message #
To add a message manually,
- Click the button
- Set message type
- Set message action
- Type it into the textbox; this will enliven the Save Message button
- Click the button, and the message will be displayed in the results message grid.
Message type #
A set by radio buttons allow the operator to define the type of message.
- Standard – Visible on both Staff access and via Montage or opac.
- Hide from public access – Used for messages not to be show on public access e.g. Montage user portal
Message Action #
A message may be one of four possible types, set by radio button above the message text box. The type must be set as the message is created. The types are:
- Permanent – A permanent message [Default] will be shown whenever the user’s record is accessed. Permanent messages may only be removed by staff action.
- Delete upon viewing. – This enables a temporary message to be constructed – whenever the message is read in Circulation or in OPAC (if permitted) then the message will automatically be deleted.
- Delivery – This special action is provided for Libraries for the Blind, to allow for a delivery message to be added for output onto mailing labels. The message remains permanent, and suppresses the Message deletion checkbox.
Note that this action type will not be shown each time the user’s record is accessed, but is visible as other messages in the User Messages display as above.
- No operator prompt. – This action is controlled by Aurora, and is not subject to manual creation, amendment or deletion. Aurora automatically creates these messages, and where given this action setting, then the message is not automatically shown to the operator when the user is subject to a loan transaction. The message detailing a user’s ‘claimed returned’ items is a prime example of this category.
Message controls #
Three controls can be applied to a message:
- Clears the message textbox, e.g. to allow a new message to be entered.
- Deletes the selected message
- Saves the new or changed message
Changing a message #
If a message needs to be amended, or have its action changed, then
- selecting the message in the display, by ticking its checkbox,
- The message box in the control panel will become editable
- Edited the message and save the action changed.
Deleting a message #
A message may be deleted by
- Ticking the message checkbox to bring the message into the textbox – allowing the full text to be seen and confirming that the correct message is selected –
- clicking the Delete control. Aurora will ask for confirmation of the deletion:
Automatic messaging #
Claimed Returned #
If an item is marked as Claimed Returned (as long as the loan has not yet been cleared), then a message is written automatically to the user’s messages.
Similarly, if an item is marked as Lost via the task to update overdue items to Lost or Missing, a user message is added, e.g. ‘Overdues. Item set to ‘Lost’. Due: dd/mm/yyyy , Item: xxxxxx (AU????????) Title’.
Printing message details #
To print details of recorded messages – if required – select the view to be printed and Excel Button at the top of the screen. The data may then be exported to Excel using the Excel button, for manipulation and for printing.